Criteria for the clinical use of Intravenous Immunoglobulin in Australia - Second Edition

Acronyms and abbreviations

AASV ANCA-associated systemic vasculitis

AbMR antibody-mediated rejection

AChR acetylcholine receptor

ADEM acute disseminated encephalomyelitis

ADL activities of daily living

AHMC Australian Health Ministers’ Conference

AHMAC Australian Health Ministers’ Advisory Council

AIDS acquired immunodeficiency syndrome

AIHA autoimmune haemolytic anaemia

ALL acute lymphoblastic or lymphoid leukaemia

AML acute myeloid or myelogenous leukaemia

ANCA anti-neutrophil cytoplasmic antibody

ARCBS Australian Red Cross Blood Service (the Blood Service)

ARTG Australian Register of Therapeutic Goods

BP bullous pemphigoid

CIDP chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyneuropathy

CLL chronic lymphocytic leukemia

CP cicatricial pemphigoid

3 cerebrospinal fluid

CTEPC Clinical, Technical & Ethical Principal Committee of AHMAC

CVID common variable immunodeficiency DM dermatomyositis

DNA deoxyribonucleic acid

ESRD end-stage renal disease

FEIBA factor eight inhibitor bypassing agent

FIX clotting factor nine

FMAIT foeto-maternal alloimmune thrombocytopenia

FVIII clotting factor eight

g gram

GBS Guillain–Barré syndrome

GMP good manufacturing practice

HAART highly active anti-retroviral therapy

HDN haemolytic disease of the newborn

HIV human immunodeficiency virus

HLA human leukocyte antigen

HPA human platelet antigen

HSCT haemopoietic stem cell transplantation

IBM inclusion body myositis

Ig immunoglobulin

IgG immunoglobulin G

ITP immune/idiopathic thrombocytopenia purpura

IV intravenous

IVIg intravenous immunoglobulin

JBC Jurisdictional Blood Committee

JDO Jurisdictional Direct Order (for imported IVIg)

kg kilogram

L litre

LEMS Lambert–Eaton myasthenic syndrome

MAG myelin-associated glycoprotein

MG myasthenia gravis

MGUS monoclonal gammopathy of uncertain significance MM multiple myeloma

MMN multifocal motor neuropathy

MMP mucous membrane pemphigoid

MPO myeloperoxidase

MRC Medical Research Council

MRI magnetic resonance imaging

MS multiple sclerosis

n number

NAIT neonatal alloimmune thrombocytopenia

NBA National Blood Authority

NH neonatal haemochromatosis

NHL non-Hodgkin lymphoma

NHMRC National Health and Medical Research Council

NICRWG National IVIg Criteria Working Group

OMA opsoclonus myoclonus ataxia

PANDAS paediatric autoimmune neuropsychiatric disorder associated with streptococcal infections

PF pemphigus foliaceus

PICO population, intervention, comparator, outcome PID primary immunodeficiency

PM polymyositis

PPMS primary progressive multiple sclerosis

PRMS progressive relapsing multiple sclerosis

PTP post transfusion purpura

PV pemphigus vulgaris

RCT randomised controlled trial

RhD Rhesus D

RRMS relapsing remitting multiple sclerosis

SCLS systemic capillary leak syndrome

SCoH Standing Council on Health

SJS Stevens–Johnson syndrome

SLE systemic lupus erythematosus

SPMS secondary progressive multiple sclerosis

TEN toxic epidermal necrolysis

TGA Therapeutic Goods Administration

the Criteria Criteria for the clinical use of intravenous immunoglobulin in Australia

TSEAC Transmissible Spongiform Encephalopathies Advisory Committee

TSS toxic shock syndrome